Institution’s Innovation Council (IIC)

Institution’s Innovation Council (IIC)

About IIC

  • Ministry of Education (MoE), Govt. of India has established ‘MoE’s Innovation Cell (MIC)’ to systematically foster the culture of Innovation among all Higher Education Institutions (HEIs).
  • The primary mandate of MIC is to encourage, inspire and nurture young students by supporting them to work with new ideas and transform them into prototypes while they are informative years.
  • MIC has envisioned encouraging creation of ‘Institution’s Innovation Council (IICs) across selected HEIs.
  • A network of IICs are established to promote innovation and entrepreneurship in the Institution through multitudinous modes leading to an innovation promotion ecosystem in the campuses.

Major Focus

  • To create a vibrant local innovation ecosystem.
  • Start-up supporting mechanism in HEIs.
  • Prepare institute for Atal Ranking of institutions on innovation achievements framework.
  • Establish function ecosystem for scouting ideas and pre-incubation of ideas.
  • Develop better cognitive ability among students.

Functions of IIC

  • To conduct various Innovation, IPR and entrepreneurship-related activities prescribed by MIC in time bound fashion.
  • Identify and reward innovations and share success stories.
  • Organize periodic workshops/ seminars/ interactions with entrepreneurs, investors, professionals and create a mentor pool for student innovators.
  • Network with peers and national entrepreneurship development organizations.
  • Create an Institution’s Innovation portal to highlight innovative projects carried out by institution’s faculty and students.
  • Organize Hackathons, idea competition, mini-challenges etc. with the involvement of industries.


Sr. No.

Name of Member

Key Role/Position in IIC

1  Dr. Savita Tauro President
2  Dr. Govind Asane Vice President
3  Dr. Deepak Bharati Convenor
4  Dr. Bharat Dhokchawle ARIIA & NIRF Coordinator
5  Dr. Norma Rebello IPR Activity Coordinator
6  Mr. Prashant Chaturvedi Internship Coordinator
7  Mrs. Deepali Nahar Innovation Activity Coordinator
8  Mrs. Vrushali Gokhale Start-up Activity Coordinator
9  Mr. Jegan Nadar Social Media Coordinator
10  Mr. Abhijeet Puri Members
11  Mr. Amol Gholap Members
12  Mrs. Anuradha Chaudhary Members
13  Mr. Ravindra Karande Members



Sr. No.

Name of Member

Key Role/Position in IIC


 Mr. Vijay Shivpuje (Director, Patlex Business Solutions) IP Expert/ Patent Expert


 Dr. Digamber Zawar (Chairman & Managing Director, Kamla Group of Companies) Expert from Nearby Industry


 Dr. Mala Menon (Adjunct Professor, Bombay College of Pharmacy) Nearby Incubation Centre



Sr. No.

Name of Member

Key Role/Position in IIC


 Ms. Tresa Boban Kalathil Innovation Coordinator


 Mr. Ayush Kaikade Startup Coordinator


 Mr. Prakash Chaudhary Internship Coordinator


 Ms. Renny Jecob Daniel IPR Coordinator


 Ms. Vinmrata Shetty Social Media Coordinator


 Mr. Saurabh Yadav General Members


 Ms. Shweta Shukla General Members